2016 Malaysian Cub Prix Round 8 race results

Action-packed Malaysian Cub Prix Round 8 roars in Temerloh, Pahang.


Round 8 of the Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix 2016 national underbone racing series got underway last weekend in the East Coast state of Pahang. Here’s what went down in all three classes.


CP130 – Kasma falters, Fazli shines
The race in Pahang saw current series favourite and Young Johore-born sensation Kasma Daniel struggling for pace all weekend. Instead, Sunday’s winning glory was clinched by his Petronas Yamaha Maju Motor teammate Ahmad Fazli Sham.

The veteran rider from Taiping showed that, despite being in his twilight years of racing, he still has what it takes to win races in a commanding fashion. Joining Ahamd Fazli on the podium in second place was Petronas Yamaha CKJ rider Md Fitri Ashraff Razali whilst Harian Metro YTEQ SCK Honda Racing rider Norizman Ismail finished third.


Kasma eventually settled for an eighth place finish in Sunday’s race, hauling valuable points to retain his lead in the championship standings with 158 points. Teammate Fazli is ranked second with 136 points, holding a strong chance at snatching the title away from Kasma with just 22 points separating them.


CP115 – Haziq trumps Azroy for the win
In the supporting CP115 category, it appears that the championship battle has shifted its pace. Faltering here were title contenders Md Akid Aziz and Tengku Amirul Haffifrudin.

While a broken hand forced Tengku Amirul of the Motul Zeneos YY Pang Team to withdraw, rival Md Akid Aziz’s race on Sunday came to an early end as he ad to retire the after just 11 laps astride the Petronas Yamaha Maju Motor machine.


Winning the race was Petronas Yamaha Maju Motor’s Md Haziq Md Fairues. Completing the podium were GIVI Honda Yuzy Racing riders Azroy Anuar in second and Md Amirul Ariff Musa in third.

Both Akid and Amirul remains at the top of the CP115 standings with 106 points and 100 points respectively, but Md Haziq’s winning form in Temerloh sees him edging closer in third with 92 points.


Wira – Shafiq’s winning return
In the highly competitive Wira class, it was Selangor native Shafiq Ezzariq that rose back to the top to reclaim his lead in the class’ title race.

The Idemitsu Kozi Yam Honda Racing rider had the initial advantage early in the season, but the arrival of strong challenger Helmi Azman changed things in the last few rounds. With Helmi settling for a 16th place finish yesterday, there was little stopping Shafiq from stealing the win.

Joining Shafiq on the podium was Weststar Motorsports rider Md Qhuwarismi Md Nasir in second and Md Amirul Arif Ramlee of the Petronas Yamaha squad taking third place.

Shafiq still leads the standings with 174 points in total whilst title rival Helmi remains in second with 128 points. With two races left, the battle for the Wira class’ title boils down to these two young riders.

Co-founder of Bikes Republic and a motoring journalist by night. He is a self described enthusiasts with a passion for speed but instead rides a Harley and a J300. A man of contradictions, he is just as passionate about time off in the quiets as he is about trail braking into turn one at Sepang Circuit on two or four wheels.

Related Articles


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on YouTube