Elly Idzlianizar Ilias proved he is a serious threat to the CP130 title as the seasoned contender scored an emphatic win in Round 2 of the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship at Stadium Batu Kawan, Penang on Sunday.

Elly Idzlianizar Ilias won the Batu Kawan leg on Sunday

Elly who returned to the premiere class after spending a year in the intermediate CP115 started from second row after the SuperPole was called off due to an oil spill took victory in 16’17.765s ahead of Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing teammate, Mohd Zamri Baba by 3.589 seconds. Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor) denied SCK from conquering the podium steps as he overtook SCK rookie, Hafiz Nor Azman in the final lap to finish third with 16’22.058s.

SCK was hoping to make a clean podium sweep when all four riders, Norizman Ismail, Zamri, Elly and Hafiz dominated the first four laps but their plan fell apart when race leader, Norizman pitted in due to a broken exhaust. “Winning here in Batu Kawan came as a huge surprise. I still have a hard time believing it because to be perfectly honest, I did not expect to win here,” said an overjoyed Elly.

Elly leading the CP130 race at Batu Kawan

“But at the same time I feel bad that we failed to secure the top four positions. Our strategy was to dominate from start to finish and not to let anyone through but things went South when Norizman had to pit in. Nevertheless, I am pleased with the results and I’m glad to see at least one of my teammates is here with me on the podium today.” “I dedicate this win to the team who has worked endlessly to provide me with a perfect setup, my family and fans for their undying support,” he added. Hauling 25 points from this leg, Elly moves up to second overall in the CP130 standings while Zamri leads with 40 points. Ahmad Fazli Sham who finished 13th sits in third, 28 points.

CP130 Race at Batu Kawan

Meanwhile Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin chalked his season’s first back-to-back win as he dominated the CP115 race from start to finish. The Motul Yamaha YY Pang rider capitalized on pole position to steal an early lead while teammate and reigning champion, Mohd Izzat Zaidi Salehan held back the rest of the field. Helping the Terengganu born rider escape with ease was the first lap pile up caused by Iqbal Amri Abdul Malek (Felda PB Racing) that took out Kasma Daniel Kasmayuddin (PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor) and Izrul Huzaimie Amran (PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ).

CP115 Podium - P1 Tengku Amirul P2 Ahmad Syukran P3 Iskandar Raduan

Tengku Amirul came out on top against Ahmad Syukran Aizat (PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ) in 13’53.509s while the latter crossed the finish line 12.207 seconds later with 14’05.716s. Iskandar Raduan (M Seki Liberty Honda) who last year competed in the CP130 took third place in 14’07.092s. Tengku who finished third overall last year now leads the CP115 standings with 50 points followed by Izzat and Ahmad Syukran with 29 points and 26 points respectively.

Tengku Amirul won the CP115 race at Batu Kawan

Lastly Harith Farhan Baharin secured his maiden victory for the season in the WIRA category at Batu Kawan. Earmarked to be the successor of Khairul Idham Pawi at the Kozi Yam Honda camp, Harith wrapped up the 12-lap race in 11’15.525s with a massive 12 seconds lead over his rivals.

WIRA Podium - P1 Harith Farhan P2 Saiful Izman P3 Khairul Ikhwan

Temerloh winner, Saiful Izman Ahmad Zamani (Felda AFB Tech Cardinals Racing) came in second with 11’27.581s after struggling with mechanical issues while Khairul Ikhwan Ajis (Espada Wiliam Racing) rounded up the podium steps in 11’34.019s. Picking up 25 points from this leg, Harith is now locked in a tie with Saiful Izman on top of the WIRA standings with 45 points followed by Khairul Ihkwan third with 27 points. Round Three of the 2015 PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship will be held in Muar, Johor on May 1 and 2.

CP130 Race
1.Elly Idzlianizar Ilias (Honda) 16’17.765s 2.Zamri Baba (Honda) 16’21.354s 3.Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (Yamaha) 16’22.058s 4.Hafiz Nor Azman (Honda) 16’22.708s 5.Fitri Ashraf Razali (Yamaha) 16’29.594s

Overall Standings
1.Zamri Baba (Honda) 40 points 2.Elly Idzlianizar Ilias (Honda) 38 points 3.Ahmad Fazli Sham (Yamaha) 28 points 4.Abdul Muhaimin Roslan (Yamaha) 25 points 5.Hafiz Nor Azman (Honda) 23 points

Team Awards
1.Harian Metro Y-TEQ SCK Honda Racing 69 points 2.PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor 60 points 3.Motul Yamaha YY Pang 30 points 4.PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ 23 points 5.Yamalube AHM 20 points

CP115 Race
1.Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin (Yamaha) 13’53.509s 2.Ahmad Syukran Aizat (Yamaha) 14’05.716s 3.Iskandar Raduan (Honda) 14’07.092s 4.Izzat Zaidi Salehan (Yamaha) 14’07.228s 5.Sharifuddin Shamsuddin (Yamaha) 14’15.075s

Overall Standings
1.Tengku Amirul Haffiruddin (Yamaha) 50 points 2.Izzat Zaidi Salehan (Yamaha) 29 points 3.Ahmad Syukran Aizat (Yamaha) 26 points 4.Kasma Daniel Kasmayuddin (Yamaha) 20 points 5.Iskandar Raduan (Honda) 16 points

Team Awards
1.Motul Yamaha YY Pang 79 points 2.PETRONAS Yamaha CKJ 37 points 3.M Seki Liberty Honda 24 points 4.Jetron Apido Team PJM 22 points 5.PETRONAS Yamaha Maju Motor 20 points

1.Harith Farhan Baharin (Honda) 11’15.525s 2.Saiful Izman Ahmad Zamani (Yamaha) 11’27.581s 3.Khairul Ikhwan Ajis (Yamaha) 11’34.019s 4.Qhuwarismi Mohd Nasir (Yamaha) 11’37.990s 5.Shafiq Ezzariq (Honda) 11’38.011s

Overall Standings
1.Harith Farhan Baharin (Honda) 45 points 2.Saiful Izman Ahmad Zamani (Yamaha) 45 points 3.Khairul Ikhwan Ajis (Yamaha) 27 points 4.Shafiq Ezzariq (Honda) 18 points 5.Nazirul Izzat Bahauddin (Yamaha) 16 points

Co-founder of Bikes Republic and a motoring journalist by night. He is a self described enthusiasts with a passion for speed but instead rides a Harley and a J300. A man of contradictions, he is just as passionate about time off in the quiets as he is about trail braking into turn one at Sepang Circuit on two or four wheels.

Related Articles