2017 MotoGP race calendar released

Dorna releases finalised 2017 MotoGP race calendar with Malaysian GP set for Oct 27, 28 and 29.

MotoGP’s commercial rights holder has released the finalised 2017 MotoGP race calendar earlier this week. Mark your dates for all 18 rounds that’s scheduled for this year.

Besides the final confirmation of Silverstone as the venue for the British GP, little else has changed from the provisional calendar released back in September last year. As always, the season kicks off under the floodlights in Losail, Qatar from 24 March to 26 March.

More importantly, the Malaysian-leg of the world championship remains as the season’s penultimate round before the Valencia season finale. The Malaysian round is slated to run from Oct 27 to Oct 29 and stands as the last of three ‘flyaway’ race venues after Twin Ring Motegi, Japan and Phillip Island, Australia.

Here’s the 2017 MotoGP race calendar in full for your reference:

From what’s developing in the winter tests, the factory-backed Yamaha squad remains a top favourite with superstar Valentino Rossi leading new teammate Maverick Viñales in its riding roster.

Also poised for strong performance this year is Jorge Lorenzo who made the successful switch into the factory-backed Ducati squad. The Spaniard is hoping to reclaim his lost glory astride the scarlet Italian team’s Desmosedici GP machine while compatriot Marc Marquez mounts his title defence with Honda.

Rest assured, we at BikesRepublic are counting down the days to the start of the 2017 MotoGP racing season together with you.

Co-founder of Bikes Republic and a motoring journalist by night. He is a self described enthusiasts with a passion for speed but instead rides a Harley and a J300. A man of contradictions, he is just as passionate about time off in the quiets as he is about trail braking into turn one at Sepang Circuit on two or four wheels.

Related Articles