The FIM Asia Road Racing Championship is set to kick off its highly anticipated 20th season as the championship promoter released its 2015 race calendar that will see six rounds take place in five countries across Asia with Japan no longer hosting two rounds.

Ahmad Afif Amran during the ARRC race in Thailand

Sticking to traditions, the opening round takes place at Sepang, Malaysia (April 16-19) followed by the Sentul Circuit in Indonesia (June 4-7) with the mid-season round hosted in Japan at the historical Suzuka Circuit (August 27-30).

The only revision to the race calendar is that the Thailand and Qatar round have been switched around in the second half of the season. FIA-grade approved Buriram Circuit that held the penultimate round in 2014 will now stage the fourth and final round from the 27 to 30 August and second to sixth December respectively.

Moto2 bound Zaqhwan Zaidi clinched last year's SuperSports 600cc title

Meanwhile the floodlit Losail Circuit in Doha, Qatar that held the grand finale for the past five seasons will now host the penultimate round (September 30 – October 3).


Provisional 2015 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship Race Calendar

Official pre-season test – 1 to 3 April

Round 1, Sepang, Malaysia – 16 to 19 April

Round 2, Sentul, Indonesia – 4 to 7 June

Round 3, Japan – 1 to 5 July

Round 4, Buriram, Thailand  – 27-30 August

Round 5, Losail, Qatar – 30 September to 3 October

Round 6, Buriram, Thailan – 2 to 6 December

Co-founder of Bikes Republic and a motoring journalist by night. He is a self described enthusiasts with a passion for speed but instead rides a Harley and a J300. A man of contradictions, he is just as passionate about time off in the quiets as he is about trail braking into turn one at Sepang Circuit on two or four wheels.

Related Articles


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on YouTube