SIC-MAM Awards 2016: Khairul Idham Pawi Wins ‘Rider of the Year’

  • First ever motorsports awards in Malaysia.

  • One of eight awards given out last evening & motorsports hall of fame inductees.

  • Joint partnership between Sepang International Circuit (SIC), Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM) and Sportswriter Association of Malaysia (SAM).

Khairul Idham Pawi

Khairul Idham Pawi celebrated his latest achievement last evening when he received the SIC-MAM Award for ‘Best Rider of the Year’ for 2016. He was awarded with the honour for his amazing achievements as the first Malaysian to win not one but two races in MotoGP™ in the Moto3™ category back in 2016. The award for ‘Best Driver of the Year’ for four wheels went to Jazeman Jaafar.

Second from left: Jazeman Jaafar

There were a total of eight awards given out yesterday to recognise the people in motorsports including the drivers, riders, teams and even journalists who form the backbone of the motorsports industry not just in the local scene but on the international level as well. These recognitions and awards were given out for efforts made by individuals and teams for both two and four wheels.

Saiful Affendy Sapran, Harian Metro

The first award given out was the SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award for Best Journalist went to Saiful Affendy Sapran from Harian Metro for his article “Tindakan Wajar”. The second SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award for Best Photographer went to Abdul Razak Latif from Kosmo for his amazing Formula 1 photo.

Abdul Razak Latif, Kosmo

The awards for ‘Best Team of the Year’ went to Project X Racing (two wheels) and Sakura Tedco Racing (four wheels). The Project X Racing has gained a lot of attention through their massive achievements especially at the Malaysia Superbike Championship. They have worked with the likes of Hafizh Syahrin in the national races and have been a dominant force ever since its inception.

Project X Racing

The SIC National Championship Award was given out to Malaysia’s “Prince of Drift”, Tengku Djan Ley Tengku Mahaleel. Tengku Djan has been a very important figure in all sorts of motoring events including Formula Drift, D1 Championship, Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race and the Saga Cup not just as the driver but also as the team developer.

Tengku Djan Ley Tengku Mahaleel

SIC also made an award where the public get to vote for their favourite motorsports hero in the Malaysia Motorsports People’s Choice Award. The receiver of this award with the highest number of votes was none other than our very own national Moto2™ rider, Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah. He has been very competitive last season including a few fights for podium finishes. For 2017, he will ride faster than ever to achieve motoring glory together with Khairul Idham Pawi who has graduated from Moto3 and move up to Moto2.

Hafizh Syahrin

Last night was also where the first group of individuals were inducted into the Malaysian Motorsports Hall of Fame for their outstanding achievements in the national and international motoring industry. The first nine people to be inducted are:

  • Datuk Abdul Razak Dawood
  • Tan Sri Mokhzani Mahathir
  • Allahyarham Tan Sri Basir Ismail
  • Karamjit Singh
  • Alex Yoong
  • Ron Hogg
  • Shahrol Yuzy Ahmad Zaini
  • Khairul Idham Pawi
  • Muhammad Zulfahmi Khairuddin

A passionate individual when it comes to anything related to two wheels (or sometimes more), he enjoys the chaotic and magical world of motorsports as much as riding leisurely to the shops on his beloved Vespa. With an education-based background, he is always eager to learn and share about the poetic arts of motorcycling.

Related Articles


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on YouTube