Tun Dr Mahatir Mohamad

  • Hafizh Syahrin telah memenangi anugerah “Petronas International Rider of the Year” bagi tahun 2018.
  • Pengumuman tersebut telah dibuat sewaktu majlis anugerah “Petronas SIC Motorsport Association of Malaysia (MAM) 2018” pada hari Selasa, 12 Februari 2019.
  • Perdana Menteri, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad juga telah dianugerahkan dengan “Lifetime Achievement Award”.


  • Hafizh Syahrin wins Petronas International Rider of the Year Award for 2018.

  • He was announced the winner at the Petronas SIC Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM) Award 2018 on Tuesday evening (12thFebruary).

  • Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahatir Mohamad was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Malaysia’s MotoGP rider Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah won the Petronas International Rider of the Year Award at the Petronas SIC Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM) Award 2018 on Tuesday evening (12thFebruary).

He was also awarded the Malaysia Motorsports People’s Choice Award. The nominees and subsequently the winner of this category was determined by fans through online voting.

Hafizh became Malaysia’s first ever full-time MotoGP rider in 2018 when he was picked by Herve Poncharal to join his Monster Energy Yamaha Tech 3 team. His consistency meant that he led the MotoGP Rookie of the Year chase until a slew of crashes forced him to cede the title to 2017 Moto2 champion and fellow rookie, Franco Morbidelli by just four agonizing points. Hafizh’s best finish was an incredible 9thin Argentina after starting from the 23rdspot. But perhaps the most emotional result was in Malaysia where he stormed up from dead last on the grid to finish 10th.

Other Malaysian motorsports achievers were also awarded at the gala event.

One rider, Danial Syahni Shahril was awared the KBS Motorsports Development Award by the Youth, Sports and Culture Minister YB Syed Saddiq. Danial was close to winning the final Asia Talent Cup race at SIC when a fellow competitor side-checked his bike. The bump caused him to fall into the path of another rider who smashed into his legs. Danial delivered an emotional note, “I’ve been in hospital for the last three months. Tonight, is the first day I am out of the hospital.” There’s perhaps justice for Danial as the offending rider was docked with a penalty and lost the race and ATC title to rival Billy Van Eerde.

On the four-wheeled front, Jazeman Jaafar won the Petronas International Driver of the Year award with fellow drivers Nabil Jeffri and Weiron Tan.

The trio was the first Asian driver team to win the fourth round of the World Endurance Championship at the 6 Hours of Fuji. They earned the entry to the 2018 Malaysia Motorsports Hall of Fame.

A total of 14 competitive awards were presented to teams and individuals over the course of the evening. Additionally, six honorees were inducted into the Hall of Fame including Kuan Huah Chin better known as Bulldog Kuan; go-kart driver Ng Wai Leong; and rally navigator Allen Oh.

Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahatir Mohamad was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award for his role in bringing Malaysia into a higher level in automotive and motorsports. It was Tun who started the first national car project, Proton and built the Sepang International Circuit.

Roll of Honour

Lifetime Achievement Award: Tun Dr Mahatir Mohamad
Inductees into the Malaysian Motorsports Hall of Fame: Allen Oh, Ng Wai Leong, Jazeman Jaafar, Nabil Jeffri, Weiron Tan, Kuan Huah Chin (Bulldog Kuan)
Petronas International Driver of the Year: Jazeman Jaafar (WEC)
Petronas International Rider of the Year: Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (MotoGP)
SIC Best National Driver of the Year: Mark Darwin
SIC Best National Rider of the Year: Muhammad Helmi Azman
SIC Best National Team (2 Wheels): SCK Rapido Hi-Rev Honda Racing
SIC Best National Team (4 Wheels): Dream Chaser
Most Inspiring Female Motorsports Athlete: Leona Chin
SIC Best e-Motorsport Athlete: Ady Rahimy & Angeline Lee
Most Improved Driver of the Year: Brendan Paul Anthony
Most Improved Rider of the Year: Danial Syahmi Shahril
KBS Motorsports Development Award: Danial Syahmi Shahril
Malaysia Motorsports People’s Choice Award: Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah
SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award (Best Journalist): Sukhairi Thani – Berita Harian
SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award (Best Photographer): Ridzuan Rizal Ahmad – Utusan Malaysia
SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award (Best Electronic Media): Hasnida Hanim Ahmad Kamil and Aji Saregar – TV3


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on YouTube