Sepang International Circuit (SIC) Team Joins FIM Enel MotoE

  • The inaugural FIM Enel MotoE World Cup for electric motorcycles will begin in 2019.

  • The riders will be riding the electric Energica motorcycle.

  • Sepang International Circuit will field a team with a single entry.

The inaugural FIM Enel MotoE World Cup electric motorcycle GP will commence in 2019 and the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) will also field a team.

The announcement was made during the third MotoE Team Committee at the Red Bull Ring in Austria. SIC’s participation in the series takes the grid to 12 teams with a total of 18 bikes, as there are teams that chose to enter one rider (such as SIC) or two. All teams will ride the same Energica MotoE bike.

The teams with one entry are:

  • Sepang International Circuit (SIC);
  • Marc VDS Racing Team;
  • Ajo Motorsport;
  • Pons Racing;
  • Dynavolt Intact GP;
  • SIC58 Squadra Corse.

Teams with two entries are:

  • Tech 3 Racing;
  • LCR Team;
  • Pramac Racing;
  • Esponsorama Racing;
  • Gresini Racing;
  • Angel Nieto Team.

The committee also outlined other details such as test dates, sponsors and technical partners.

All tests will be conducted at Jerez on these dates:

  • 23rd to 25th November 2018;
  • 13th to 15th March 2019;
  • 23rd to 25th April 2019.

Confirmed sponsors are:

  • Enel;
  • Energica;
  • Michelin;
  • DHL.

Technical partners include:

  • Dell’Orto;
  • Regina;
  • Brembo;
  • Marchesini;
  • Öhlins.

The full calendar for the inaugural FIM Enel MotoE World Cup is expected to be published during the San Marino GP, while the rider line-up will be revealed at the Aragon GP. The MotoE series augurs well with the development of electric motorcycles ahead of new petrol-powered vehicle bans in a number of countries within the next decade.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here