Moto2: Morbidelli makes it Two for Two in Argentina

  • Franco Morbidelli (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) became the first Italian to win back to back Moto2 races

  • Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Ajo) salvaged second spot after Alex Marquez crashed out of the race in the final lap

  • Thomas Luthi (CarXpert Interwetten) completed the podium spot 15 seconds behind Morbidelli


Morbidelli's victory wheelie – ArgentinaGP

2 in a row! Incredible drama in #Moto2 as Franco Morbidelli Official wins following a crash from teammate Alex Márquez during their final lap showdown!

Posted by MotoGP on 9hb April 2017

It’s a day filled with mixed emotions for the Moto2 EG 0,0 Marc VDS when both of their riders were heading for a one-two finish on top of the podium when all of a sudden Alex Marquez suffered a horrific crash in the very final lap. Franco Morbidelli came out on top (again!) after a very good start in the beginning of the race.

He maintained his composure throughout the race even with signs of struggle with his rear tyre. The win also makes Morbidelli the first ever Italian to win back to back Moto2 races.

Image source: KTM

Second place was looking set for Alex Marquez but due to the crash, it was the number 44 rider Miguel Oliveira from Red Bull KTM Ajo who came in second. It was a lonely race for the Portuguese rider but it was a welcomed result for him and KTM as well.

Further back in the field in P3 was Thomas Luthi who’s riding for the CarXpert Interwetten who crossed the line over 10 seconds behind Franco Morbidelli.  Takaaki Nakagami from the IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia who had a good qualifying session unfortunately retired on the first lap of the race following a crash with Remy Gardner from the Tech 3 racing team.

Pos. Num. Rider Nation Team Time/Gap
1 21 Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS 39’50.036
2 44 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Ajo 1.683
3 12 Thomas Luthi SWI CarXpert Interwetten 10.551
4 7 Lorenzo Baldassarri ITA Forward Racing Team 15.577
5 97 Xavi Vierge SPA Tech 3 Racing 24.527
6 24 Simone Corsi ITA Speed Up Racing 24.783
7 42 Francesco Bagnaia ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 24.965
8 11 Sandro Cortese GER Dynavolt Intact GP 25.156
9 41 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM Ajo 25.622
10 55 Hafizh Syahrin MAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia 25.933


CLICK HERE to view the full results of the Moto2 race at the Termas de Rio Hondo circuit.

Image source: MotoGP