Dorna Releases Provisional 2019 MotoGP Calendar

Assen MotoGP 2018 - Courtesy of
  • The provisional 2019 MotoGP has finally been revealed.

  • Mexico and Finland are not included.

  • The 2019 season will kick off earlier.


Dorna has revealed the 2019 MotoGP calendar.

As speculated earlier, the 2019 season will not include Mexico and Finland as expected earlier, as the track in Mexico City is deemed too dangerous for 350 km/h motorcycles while the Kymiring circuit in Finland is still under construction. They are expected to join in the 2020 season.

Next year’s calendar may look the same as this year’s, but there are a few changes.

The 2019 season begins at Qatar on 10th March, which is earlier than usual and one week ahead of *cough* F1, instead of the other way around. Argentina follows three weeks later and the United States after that in two weeks.

The championship will only head to Europe for the first of the five – yes, five! Greedy buggers –  Spanish rounds at Jerez on 5th May. The customary 3-week summer break follows after Sachsenring, Germany.

The British GP will still be held at Silverstone. The circuit needs to solve the drainage problems if it wants to remain on the MotoGP calendar, after this year’s embarrassing cancellation. Dorna has demanded the changes.

A big change is the San Marino GP at Misano which will be moved a week later to 15th September to avoid clashing again with the high-speed procession that’s F1 at Monza. This means San Marino and the other Spanish round at Aragon back-to-back. It is going to be a challenge for logistics as the two tracks are separated by 1500 kilometres.

The final five rounds follow the same order, including the Malaysian MotoGP at Sepang International Airport on 3rd November 2019 as the penultimate round.

Date Grand Prix Venue
March 10th Qatar* Losail International Circuit
March 31st República Argentina Termas de Río Hondo
April 14th Americas Circuit of The Americas
May 5th Spain Circuito de Jerez
May 19th France Le Mans
June 2nd Italy Autodromo del Mugello
June 16th Catalunya Barcelona – Catalunya
June 30th Netherlands TT Circuit Assen
July 7th Germany Sachsenring
August 4th Czech Republic Automotodrom Brno
August 11th Austria Red Bull Ring – Spielberg
August 25th Great Britain Silverstone Circuit
September 15th San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
September 22nd Aragón MotorLand Aragón
October 6th Thailand Chang International Circuit
October 20th Japan Twin Ring Motegi
October 27th Australia Phillip Island
November 3rd Malaysia Sepang International Circuit
November 17th Comunitat Valenciana Comunitat Valenciana – Ricardo Tormo